Dave locks and loads his gargantuan tank in 'The Right To Go Insane'!

Megadeth have released the video for ‘The Right To Go Insane‘, their newest single off their latest album ‘Endgame’.

The video was released via the band’s record company website, Roadrunner Records, today and features nothing less than lead singer/guitarist Dave Mustaine driving a goddamn TANK through the streets.

That’s right, a tank. Carnage ensues in what is truly an insane video, but one based on entirely true events.

Last week the music blogging site Noisecreep had a sneak-peek on the latest video and outlined the events behind the video’s storyline:

On May 17, 1995, a U.S. Army veteran and unemployed plumber in San Diego, Shawn Timothy Nelson, snapped and stole an M60 Patton tank from a nearby National Guard Armory.

He drove down the highway, crushing cars, fire hydrants and an RV before he was stopped and killed by police.

(The official music video for ‘The Right To Go Insane)

The video follows the real-life events, featuring Dave Mustaine going crazy before stealing a military tank and running riot on the streets of California. In fact, the video even comes complete with a warning before the insanity begins:


The album, Endgame, is out now and available to buy online pretty cheap!


A special edition of the album will feature this funky artwork

Ratt’s forthcoming album, Infestation, has been made available to stream in its entirety almost a week ahead of its release.

The complete stream of the album has been released this evening, through the official Ratt website several days before its release is due, on the 19th April, 2010.

In addition to being able to stream the whole album fans can flick through a virtual album booklet containing photos and a music video for the band’s single ‘Best of Me’.

The album has already been incredibly well received by the press – the UK’s Classic Rock magazine hailed the album as “…[Ratt’s] best studio form in 25 years.”

Check out the album stream for ‘Infestation’ here!

‘Infestation’ is due out this Monday, on April 19th, as is available for pre-order here. The album is Ratt’s first in 11 years and what appears to be a true return to form for the 80s rockers. Expect a full review soon!

Slash's solo album is out on April 7th - if you pre-order, there's some cool extras on offer too!

Guns N’ Roses and Velvet Revolver guitarist Slash talked about his upcoming solo album with UK magazine Metal Hammer earlier this week, and signed off hinting at a possible, and rather unusual, collaboration project with Fergie – best known for her work with the Black Eyed Peas, of all groups.

There are, of course, other far more notable guest appearances on the self-titled album. Ozzy Osbourne, Dave Grohl, M. Shadows (of Avenged Sevenfold), Iggy Pop, Cypress Hill and Chris Cornell have all made a contribution to the record, which is due out on 7th April.

But the bizarre addition of Fergie has left me, at least, incredibly stumped. The Black Eyed Peas produce nothing but generic mass-pleasing music, with awful backing and a very lacklustre vocal output (both in terms of lyrics and quality).

As you can tell I’m not a fan – it’s really not a favourite moment of mine when one of their songs comes on in a club. Which is such a shame, as I used to love BEP back when they first emerged!

So why has Slash chosen Fergie to appear on his record?  Well, it would seem that they both go back a long way and have worked together many times before in the LA music scene – a place where, it would seem, everyone knows everyone.

Slash told Metal Hammer that he wanted different vocal sounds for each of his songs, and Fergie fitted with this.

I was writing material that called out for different singers. A good example the song that Fergie ended up on – it was a very hard rock song. It was written to a stripper kind of beat. It was tailored for a girl to sing it, but a girl that had balls.

He’s not lying either. Coming from someone who’s sung the kind of mass-dance churn music that the Black Eyed Peas seem to have been guilty of in the past few years, Fergie sounds like she’s got more in common with Pink than the BEP’s frontman willi.i.am.

Check out this bonus track from the Slash solo album. That’s right, it’s Paradise City. But please, bear with us – it’s not butchered at all like you’d expect it. In fact, it’s Cypress Hill who seem to be most out-of-place.

Unless Kid Rock (who also appears on the album) pulls an ace out of nowhere (unlikely, given his lack of ability to produce good rock records), then Fergie will be the biggest surprise on this album.

Slash goes on to hint at a possibility of doing an album with Fergie.

I’d love to do [a record] with Fergie, and I know she’s looking to do a rock record…

So more may be on the cards. At first I was very dubious, knowing full well that the Black Eyed Peas are incapable of producing a record that doesn’t make me want to hurl the radio at a wall. But with the sneak previews we’ve had of Fergie’s ability, I’m gonna trust Slash on this one.

Bring on the duet album, I say!

Now all that’s left is to wait and see if Slash’s solo work is any good. Given that his work with Velvet Revolver was fantastic, and that the latest ‘Axl Rose and Friends’ (sorry…’Guns N’ Roses’) record was very much less than fantastic I think the talent lies with our curly-haired friend.

Roll on April 7th – I await it with bated breath. Expect a full album review as soon as this record hits the shelves. Until then, turn your eyes towards the newly-released track listing so you know what to expect!

  1. Ghost (Ian Astbury)
  2. Crucify The Dead (Ozzy)
  3. Beautiful Dangerous (Fergie)
  4. Promise (Chris Cornell)
  5. By The Sword (Andrew Stockdale)
  6. Gotten (Adam Levine)
  7. Doctor Alibi (Lemmy Kilmeister)
  8. Watch This (Dave Grohl/Duff McKagan)
  9. I Hold On (Kid Rock)
  10. Nothing To Say (M Shadows)
  11. Starlight (Myles Kennedy)
  12. Saint Is A Sinner Too (Rocco De Luca)
  13. We’re All Gonna Die (Iggy Pop)

Sources: Metal Hammer, Guitar World.